Wrestling Info:
. Index
. Roster
. Schedule & Results
. Statistics
. Season Preview
. For Recruits
. About the Coach
. History & Archives
. Pictures
. Wrestling Links

Varsity Sports:
. Baseball
. Basketball (M)
. Basketball (W)
. Cross Country (M)
. Cross Country (W)
. Field Hockey
. Golf
. Lacrosse (M)
. Lacrosse (W)
. Soccer (M)
. Soccer (W)
. Softball
. Swimming
. Tennis (M)
. Tennis (W)
. Track & Field (M)
. Track & Field (W)
. Volleyball
. Wrestling

Athletics Info:
. Department Directory
. Driving Directions
. Fast Facts
. Releases
. Student Resources
. 75th Anniv. History

. Etown Home Page
. Etown SportsNet
. MAC Home Page
. NCAA Online

. Comments?

Saturday, February 18, 2006

Delaware Valley Wins Fifth Consecutive MAC Wrestling Championship

ELIZABETHTOWN, Pa. --- Delaware Valley College won its fifth consecutive Middle Atlantic Conference wrestling championship Saturday at Elizabethtown College. The Aggies totaled 129.5 points to win, while second place Lycoming College totaled 123 points, third place Wilkes University tallied 111 points, fourth place King’s College totaled 83 points, fifth place Messiah College tallied 81.5 points, sixth place University of Scranton totaled 50.5 points, and seventh place Elizabethtown tallied 44.5 points. Delaware Valley wrestlers won five of the 10 weight classes.

133 pound wrestler Dave Morgan of King’s won the tournament’s John Reese Award for most outstanding wrestler. 125 pounder Felipe Querioz of Wilkes was named the tournament’s Rookie of the Year, and Delaware Valley head coach Brandon Totten was named the Bud Whitehill Coach of the Year for the MAC. Jason Reilly of King’s earned the conference’s Ken Ober Award for the most falls in the least aggregate time.

At 125 pounds, Querioz took the MAC title by defeating Josh Proctor of Delaware Valley in the title bout on a 4-3 decision. Morgan earned the 133 pound championship when he defeated Sean Cullen of Lycoming in a 6-3 decision. At 141 pounds, Dan Hall won the MAC title bout on a 4-2 decision over Adam Penberthy of Wilkes. Jaryd Steinbacher of Delaware Valley captured the 149 pound MAC title when he edged Erik Smith of Wilkes in a 7-5 decision in the championship match. The 157 pound champion was Ryan Herwig of Delaware Valley, who won the title by pinning Drew Dehaut of King’s in 5:24.

Derek Ricker of Messiah won the 165 pound title on a 7-4 decision over Steve Tatum of Scranton. Derek Crane of Lycoming edged out Anthony Dill of Messiah in a 9-7 title bout decision to capture the MAC title at 174 pounds. Mike Berlanda of Delaware Valley won the 184 pound weight class on a 7-4 win over Rex Harris of Wilkes. At 197 pounds, Jamall Johnson of Delaware Valley downed Brandon Kelly of Wilkes in a 3-2 championship bout decision. Tom Snyder of Lycoming captured the 285 pound weight class with a 6-0 championship decision over Kevin Orr of Delaware Valley.

As an NCAA Division III Championship qualifier tournament, the champion of each weight class at the MAC Championships earned a berth in the NCAA Championships, along with two wild cards allotted to the MAC. The wrestlers who earned the wild cards to the NCAA Championships were Cullen from Lycoming at 133 pounds and Kelly from Wilkes at 197 pounds.

View the complete results here.