Baseball Info:
Schedule & Results
Season Preview
For Recruits
About the Coach
History & Archives
Baseball Links
Unofficial team site

Varsity Sports:
. Baseball
. Basketball (M)
. Basketball (W)
. Cross Country (M)
. Cross Country (W)
. Field Hockey
. Golf
. Lacrosse (M)
. Lacrosse (W)
. Soccer (M)
. Soccer (W)
. Softball
. Swimming
. Tennis (M)
. Tennis (W)
. Track & Field (M)
. Track & Field (W)
. Volleyball
. Wrestling

Athletics Info:
. Department Directory
. Driving Directions
. Fast Facts
. Releases
. Student Resources
. 75th Anniv. History

. Etown Home Page
. Etown SportsNet
. MAC Home Page
. NCAA Online

. Comments?

The Baseball Program 

Elizabethtown College has developed a proud tradition of winning baseball since 1930. The Blue Jays have amassed a record of 1012-713-10, have appeared in the NCAA Tournament nine times and the NAIA Tournament twice. The program won seven Middle Atlantic Conference championships and won the first two Commonwealth Conference championships in 2000 and 2001. Elizabethtown claimed its third and fourth Commonwealth Conference titles in 2006 and 2007, and the Blue Jays became the College's first program to reach the 1,000 all-time victory plateau in 2007.

Success on the baseball diamond at Elizabethtown dates back to 1936, when, under the direction of legendary Coach Ira R. Herr, the Blue Jays finished with a 8-2 record.  Year after year, Herr fielded competitive teams, paving the way for Elizabethtown to earn regional acclaim in the late 1950s.

In 1957, the Jays rolled to a College-record 14 wins and the NAIA District 30 Championship.  Herr's troops repeated the feat two years later when Elizabethtown was crowned District 30 champs in 1959. Herr concluded his 30-year career in 1961 with a record of 196-167-3.

Success continued under Owen L. Wright, who took over the team in 1962.  In his third season, the Jays won their first of seven Middle Atlantic Conference baseball crowns, earning the title in 1964 with a 13-5 record.  His teams won three straight MAC championships from 1974 through 1976; the Jays also participated in the ECAC tournament in 1975 and 1976.

In Wright's final season in 1983, his team went 22-16 at that time setting a college record for wins, and earned Elizabethtown's first NCAA Division III tournament berth.  He coached at Elizabethtown for 21 seasons, concluding his career as the college's winningest coach with a 258-184-1 mark.  His teams posted winning records in 14 of his 21 seasons.

Roger Hall was coach from 1984-87, recording a 80-66 career mark.  His final team posted a 24-17 record and advancing to the semi-finals of the MAC playoffs.  Hall was succeeded by John Gergic in 1988.

During his tenure from 1988 to 1996, Gergic compiled a 228-95-3 record, produced two Middle Atlantic Conference Champion teams, and guided the Blue Jays to the NCAA Division III Tournament in 1988, 1991, 1993, and 1994.  The 1994 squad won a college-record 33 games.

Gary Pritchard took over in 1997 and immediately captured a MAC championship.  His last season ended on a winning note in 1999 with a 27-11 record.

Matt Jones took the reins of the Blue Jay baseball program in 2000, guiding the team to a 26-14 record, the Commonwealth Conference Championship, and a trip to the NCAA Mid-Atlantic Regional tournament. He repeated the success in 2001, again winning the conference championship and securing an automatic NCAA berth. He has taken Elizabethtown to the postseason all seven years he has guided the program, and Etown finished as the conference runner-up in 2003 and 2005. The Blue Jays won the conference title again and returned to the NCAA Division III tournament in 2006.

Cliff Smith took over as the head coach in the 2006-07 academic year and led Elizabethtown to a 23-18 mark, a repeat performance as the Commonwealth Conference champion, and another trip to the NCAA Division III tournament.

Through the conclusion of the 2007 season, Elizabethtown has played in the postseason for the last nine consecutive years and 13 times in the last 16 years.

Blue Jay baseball entered a new era in 2004 with the opening of Kevin Scott Boyd Stadium, one of the premier collegiate baseball venues in the region.